TIRAMISU

The Daily WORD is TIRAMISU

Tiramisu was invented in the early 1970s in Treviso, Italy, a little Venice with canals and art. I ate it at the restaurant that invented it, Antico Ristorante Beccherie, and wanted to lick my plate. Getting the recipe was a googling chore, but I prevailed. I found it. I made it. I survived. Now, I am waiting for my family to taste it.

Tiramisu means pick-me-up – and I’ll have to pick my family off the floor when they realize I cooked instead of picking up a carry out. So here it is – European measurements translated into American.

Tiramisu Originale

12 servings

(for 6 servings, use one pie dish and half the ingredients)

12 egg yokes

2 ¼ cups granulated sugar

2 lbs mascarpone cheese

48 lady fingers

4 cups strong espresso

½ cup cocoa powder (unsweetened)

Brew espresso and pour in shallow bowl to cool

Whip egg yokes with sugar until stiff

Fold mascarpone cheese into beaten eggs and sugar to make the filling

Dip 24 lady fingers into the espresso, but do not soak them

Arrange lady fingers in two 8 or 9 inch pie dishes

Spread half the filling over the ladyfingers

Arrange another layer of lady fingers dipped in espresso on top of the filling

Spread the remaining filling over the lady fingers

Sprinkle with cocoa powder

Serve chilled

Tags: , , , ,

One Response to “TIRAMISU”

  1. PAT Says:

    NOWTHAT IS ONE BIG RECIPE
    I LIKE CHARLOTTE RUSSE’MUCH BETTER
    SWEETER
    BUT NOT TOO SWEET
    HOPE OUR FAMILY ENJOYED THE TREAT
    HOPE YOU ARE DOING GREAT
    HAPPY MOTHERS DAY
    PAT

Leave a Reply

