IRISH

 

The Daily WORD is IRISH

When he was five, my son found a four-leaf clover in the back yard. I explained it would bring him good luck one day. He said he would save the luck for when he was older. I was surprised. He was not a saver, not of allowance, treats, or exuberance.  I forgot about that four-leaf clover until I read on FaceBook today the news that I knew was coming down the pike. He is engaged to an all-Irish woman who makes him smile in ways I have not seen since he was a child.

Sometimes it takes awhile to find that one, true treasure we spend all our luck on.  But for a little boy who tried to withdraw a quarter from his savings account at the bank to buy a little girl a coke to wait nearly 40 years…well, it must be right.

In fact, I can’t think of anything that is not right about it. Now, I’m off to buy my son a green beer.

2 Responses to “IRISH”

  1. PAT BRYANT Says:

    MY MY WHAT A BEAUTIFUL COUPLE
    SUCH A NICE BUILT MN
    I ASSUME HE RESMBLES HIS DAD?
    FIRST MARRIAGE, EH?
    SMART GUY
    YOU DONE WELL
    KEEP US POSTED ON THE WHEN’S
    PAT

  2. notch Says:

    Very heartwarming, very much unlike your normal writing.

Leave a Reply

