ORPHANS

The Daily WORD is ORPHANS

Sanjana, Samuel, Nikol, Gaurav, and Anikap, (ages 4 to 8) don’t have last names because they were street children until Mr. Anna Barse found them a house and caretaker last year and trusted that the rupees would follow for food. A local Catholic school educates them for free. Other charities have passed on used clothing. A kindly doctor provides free medical care, and the rupees dribble in from here and there for food.  There was no money for Christmas toys, and the No Name Orphanage is off the charity radar screen for toy distribution.

I am really good at writing fundraising letters. This is not a fundraising blog post. But it is hard to find words that do not sound like fundraising fodder.

My reason for going to the No Name Orphanage tonight was to measure the children for new clothes, which I will deliver next week, and to give them toys and snacks.  These gifts are from my daughter and her son who saw the children’s photos last year and wanted to help.

So, this is actually a thank you letter to my daughter and grandson and everyone who has ever given to orphans.  And, because I have written hundreds of thank you letters for dozens of charities, every word running through my mind are words I have been paid to write.

I’ll just stick to a moment of my visit. I was surprised when I was directed to give the teddy bear to the Nikol, the tallest boy, and not the smallest girl. He hugged that teddy bear to his check and stroked its fur. He cuddled it and kissed it. When I left an hour later, Nikol was still hugging his bear.

If I write another word it will sound trite because I’ve written them all before.  Just picture in your mind a tall, thin boy with no last name hugging a teddy bear.

Tags: ,

One Response to “ORPHANS”

  1. PAT BRYANT Says:

    WHAT A GREAT STORY
    I DON’T BEIEVE THERE IS A WRITTTEN LAW THAT STATES THAT HUMANS OF ALL AGES AND DIVERAVATION CANNOT HUG A STUFFED ANIMAL
    I TOO HAVE DONE THIS IN RECENT YEARS WHEN OFFERED THE OPPROTUNITY FROM CHILDREN
    THANKS FOR SHARNG THE ARTICLE
    PAT

Leave a Reply

