OZ

The Daily WORD is OZ

A reader shared an enthusiasm for the poet Dorothy Parker. (Thanks, Tim!) Decades ago, this verse changed the direction of my life:

In youth it was a way I had
to do my best to please,
and change, with every passing lad,
to suit his theories.
But now I know the things I know,
and do the things I do,
and if you do not like me so,
to hell, my love, with you.

On this new path, I found fewer friends, but those friends are true. My attitude led me to a life of fascinating detours and saved me tens of thousands of dollars on fancy cars, expensive furniture, imposing house, breast implants, boring parties, and designer clothes.

And now you know why I live alone,  oblivious to those who think I should be this,  I should be that;  I should think this, I should think that;  I should do this, I should do that.  If I could pass on one thing to my children in addition to faith in God, it would be this: the curiosity to say, “And if you do not like me so, to hell…with you.”

And what does this have to do with India?

 I would not be here if I had tried to please.

But is being in India a good thing?

Not today. The water heater broke and flooded the bathroom. This is the 4th day someone was going to drive me to the bank and I am wondering if I should print my own rupees. This is the 14th day Dolly was going to cut my hair – should I get the lawn clippers and do it myself?  I want a Big Mac. I want to hug a lice-free child, listen to NPR, go to the library, rent a movie.

Some days the lifestyles that I abandoned and those I failed to strive for seem like Oz. But the not-Parker Dorothy longed for Kansas, and I get lost on Yellow Brick Roads.

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “OZ”

  1. PAT BRYANT Says:

    CAROL:
    GLAD YOU AND TK HAVE CROSSED PATHS, MAYBE SOMEDAY YOU WIL MEET THE LONGBEARED, INTELLECT, WHO CONDUCTS S CHORAL GROUP FOR FREE
    I SHAER YOUR THEORY INLIFE, BELEIVE IT OR NO
    IT IS A RARE STYLE THAT WE ARE ABLE TO MARCH TO OUR OWN DRUM
    I DO MINE IN A DIFFERNT WAY, BUT ,ONLY MY WAY, AND SEEMS THAT MY CONTENTMENT FOR MY WAY STARTED AFTER I RETURNED TO CHURCH , IN 2000
    I REALLY DONOT CARE WHAT OTHERS SAY OR THINK , I HAVE IT “MY WAY”
    HOPE THE HAIR IS NOT DRAGGING THE GROUND.
    STAY WELL AND HAPPY
    YOUR CUZ
    PAY

  2. stiggerink Says:

    Hi Cuz,
    I got it from Dad, who got it from Grandad — It’s a Stigger thing, in our genes.

    TK’s beard is longer than my hair,so I guess I’m not in critical condition yet. I should send Dolly after TK — if I can ever find her, that is.

Leave a Reply

