BAZAAR

The Daily WORD is BAZAAR

Nagpur’s Sunday street bazaar is a melting pot of cheap crap made in sweat shops all over Asia. My new $4 sandals may last a week or so, but I think they are kinda cute. I especially like the way they misspelled the name brand. They did not need to go so far to try to fool me. The gig was up when I tried them on. I wear a size 7 in that brand, not the size 10 that fit me today. My new 25 cent “designer” earrings will turn green before my new $2 “designer” skirt falls apart in the washing machine. Or maybe before I wash it. The first time I wear it. While giving a speech. The fun of cheap crap is the “oh crap” factor. Where will I be when the heel falls off, the skirt unravels, someone remarks, “er, is that mold growing on your earrings?”

When I think of “bazaar” I think of Morocco’s spicy souks, but the only smells at this bazaar were burned popcorn from a smoking pushcart and the usual poop.

The thrill of bazaar is the venue. Families charging down the street dodging other families, rickshaws, snack sellers, plodding cows, and some African guy I could swear I saw in Rome’s Piazza Navona selling the same plastic singing crickets.  “Hi, Fred,” I said. He acted like he remembered me. Anything for a sale, right?  He dropped his price as quickly as Drew Peterson drops his pants. But he failed in Nagpur as he failed in Rome.

 I marched on to the used book corner. It was calmer there. Earnest students searching for used physics text books. Me, waving rupees for fiction, any fiction.  I found a tattered book of lovely prose printed in New Zealand and UK — not in US. It cost more than my sandals. After the first page, I forgave Nagpur for not having a spicy souk. And I will forgive Nagpur when my heel falls off, my skirt unravels, and I throw away my earrings.

The point of this story is not the treasure of fine fiction or the seductive smell of souks; it is Fred and his plastic, singing crickets. I think he is an apparition. Please report any Fred sightings to this blog. If he shows up in Times Square, Red Square, Naperville’s Riverwalk, Cancun, or Piccadilly Circus, I am going to notify CNN.

Tags: , , , ,

4 Responses to “BAZAAR”

  1. jeanie Says:

    thats so funny. i’m never going to india.

  2. stiggerink Says:

    You don’t need to. I’ll bet Fred will be on a streetcorner in downtown Louisville before you know it

  3. PAT BRYANT Says:

    CAROL
    WHAT AN INTERESTING WAY TO SPEND TIME OFF
    WOU LD LOVE TO BE A BUTTERFLY ON YOUR SHOULDER AS YOU SHOP , INTERESTING
    SNOW STILL ON GROUND IN LOUISVILLE AND SURRONDING AREAS. WARMER THIS WEEK
    HAVE A BALL
    HUGS
    PAT

  4. stiggerink Says:

    You would have fought me over those sandals. I wore them out to dinner tonight — rode on the back of a motorcycle to get to the restaurant — a lawn restaurant with pretty lights and flowers. Sandals still intact.

Leave a Reply

