SIT

The Daily WORD is SIT

Stretchable India Time has a spot-on acronym (SIT). I sit a lot waiting for meals, rides, meetings, and events. This means that while I am always up to a week early, I am never late. The January planning retreat will be held in March, for which I am grateful. I’ll be back on CST waiting for the first crocus to bloom while my colleagues conclude that the January planning meeting, moved to March, must have been pushed to June because plans for the planning meeting have yet to be discussed much less committed to paper.

According to the Hindustan Times, “ Stretchable Indian Time is in a zone of its own – and no one can understand it but Indians.” This is true. I always carry a book, notebook, water, and granola bars – assuming I’ll be sitting for a mysterious length of time known as “soon.”

While waiting for “soon” to arrive, I often think of Shakespeare’s famous line:   “tomorrow and tomorrow and tomorrow creeps in its petty pace from day to day until the last syllable of recorded time.”  

There are many gaps in Shakespeare’s history, but I think I can close one of them. His full name is William Rajawalla Shakespeare. He understood Stretchable India Time.

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “SIT”

  1. jeanie Says:

    I think I might go crazy waiting for ‘soon’ to arrive… I dont mind waiting but I would just as ‘soon’ know if ‘soon’ meant 1 minute, 1 hour, 1 day, 1 week…etc… 🙂 Reminds me of when I lived on a border town with Mexico… everything was going to get done ‘manana’!

  2. stiggerink Says:

    Africa is even worse. They call it “WAWA” West Africa Wins Again. I feel I’ve gotten too old for Africa time. I would die waiting.

Leave a Reply

